Skip to content Skip to footer

How to delete your TikTok account permanently

TikTok is one of the biggest and most important platforms today; And while it has a rich variety of content, the most popular domain on the Internet can be overwhelming at times. Therefore, if you want to get rid of your TikTok account once and for all, there are several ways to delete it permanently.

In addition to the options to delete your account, TikTok also offers you the possibility to back up your data. This information includes your profile information, comment and video history, as well as certain information about your settings. However, it will not download the videos that you have uploaded to the social network; so you will have to download your TikTok videos manually.

On the other hand, in case you do not want to delete your account forever, you will have up to 30 days to recover it. Doing so is quite simple, and you will only have to log in to it once more to reactivate it. However, once the 30 days proposed by TikTok have passed, your account will be permanently deleted and you will not be able to recover it anymore.

How to delete your TikTok account from the app

Photo by Alexander Shatov on Unsplash Let's see how to delete your account from the TikTok mobile app. The company allows us to use several options to get rid of it, although we will start with the easiest and most accessible. On the other hand, the steps will be identical whether you do it from iOS or from Android; so in this case there is no discrimination of operating systems on the way.

Go to your TikTok profile from the app.Tap on the three lines in the upper right to open the Settings and privacy section. Go to Manage account. Here, choose Delete account. Now, TikTok will ask you to explain the reason why you want to leave the social network. You can select any of the options that appear on the screen or skip this step using the button in the upper right corner.

On the other hand, the app will be kind enough to allow you to download your data before deleting your account forever. You just have to click on Continue to continue with the steps. Now, TikTok will send a verification code that you will have to enter to finish deleting your account.

Once you have passed the verification process, now you just have to tap on Delete account. The app will refresh and you will return to the login screen. Now, your account is on a countdown of 30 days for its final deletion.

How to delete your TikTok account from the web

Photo by Solen Feyissa on Unsplash In case you do not have access to a mobile device, you also have the option to delete your TikTok account from the website of the social network. The process is the same or easier than described above.

Go to TikTok.comSign in to your account.Tap on your profile picture in the upper right corner.Open Settings.Go to Manage account.Once inside, tap on Delete account. Now you just have to follow a process quite similar to the one described above. Once you finish it, your account will be put on a 30-day countdown for TikTok to delete it completely.

How to make a backup

You can request a backup of your information on TikTok for later use. Of course, the uploaded videos will not come in the backup file, and if you want to keep them you will have to download them one by one until you have all you need.

The data included in this backup, according to the TikTok app, will be your profile data (username, profile photo, short description and contact data); your activity (video history, comments, chat, purchases, likes and favorites); and your app settings (privacy settings, notification settings and language settings).

However, before downloading your TikTok account backup, you need to request it from the app first. The file may take up to a few days to prepare, so please be patient.

Enter the TikTok app.Go to your profile and go to Settings and privacy.Tap on Privacy.Here, select Download your data. In the following menu you will be able to choose the type of file in which you would like to download the backup of your account. You can use file TXT which will download a file with written data understandable by a human being. The other option, however, is to download your data in JSON format, which will allow you to use it later in computer programs that support the Javascript format.

Once the data file is created, you just have to tap on the Download data tab. Remember that to see it you could have to wait even days, depending on your account.